Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya.

The Blog Itself

Just kidding my name is Emma. I’m here because I really like movies and I have a lot of thoughts about them. If you like what I have to say, that’s awesome. If you don’t, that’s cool too, but 1) I’m not an omnipotent superhuman who’s always right about everything and 2) this isn’t really about you. No offense or anything, but this is just a place for me to put my thoughts down. It’s not really a review site, well I guess it sort of is, I don’t know. Just know that there are major spoilers ahead.

The Bechdel Test

So this is how I plan to format all my blogs. I promise I’m not some crazy third wave feminist, but I do think there is a problem with sexism in our country. But mostly I just think the Bechdel test is really interesting. Well, I guess I find it really interesting that the majority of movies don’t pass the Bechdel test. Which says a lot about our society, but what can you do? I think if I were a director or something I would make sure all of my movies passed this test because it’s such a small thing that seems relatively easy to accomplish.

If you don’t know what the Bechdel test is, let me explain. A movie passes the Bechdel test if it meets the following qualifications:

  1. There must be two named female characters
  2. They must talk to each other
  3. They must talk about something other than a man

Fun Fact

My all-time favorite movie is The Princess Bride.

Leave a Reply

