Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

The Film Itself

I feel kind of like I’m cheating by doing a post about this movie because I’ve seen it before but it’s been long enough that I didn’t really remember what happened so you can all shut up. Even though you weren’t saying anything. Also weighing on my conscience: I recently watched Men, Women & Children and started a blog post but it didn’t save so screw that. All I have to say is I do not recommend it. It’s like an after school special on steroids. The only reason I could possibly recommend this is if you want to break your own sympathetic heart or if you want to see a couple of moments of really honest acting (specifically from Kaitlyn Dever and Rosemarie DeWitt).

Anyways, I love this movie. So good. It’s so unabashedly smart. It’s not witty and clever in a very deep and inspirational way. It’s in your face about how smart it is. Which is why Robert Downey Jr. is about as close as you can get to perfect casting. And don’t even get me started on Val Kilmer! Holy Crap! I want Gay Perry in my life. He needs to be at the top of every list of the most sarcastic characters in cinema. So great.

I will also say that my roommate is one of the worst people to watch movies with. However because of that, it teaches me more about the movie. For instance, my roommate has a habit of asking a lot of questions, mostly about what’s going to happen next. She was confused throughout this whole movie. But honestly it’s just cause she wasn’t paying attention. So pay attention if you watch this movie. Her review: Robert Downey Jr. is a sweetie, 8/10.

I don’t even know how to organize this post. I’m sorry. Bear with me. So let’s go with the writing first cause that’s by far the best part of the movie. God. So good and smart and sarcastic. I don’t even know what else to say. I love when movies use fourth wall breaks really well like Kiss Kiss Bang Bang does. Not only do they create an unreliable narrator, they also make fun of themselves and their audience. It’s “so meta”. They make fun of all the tropes they use, like (spoiler alert) Harry and Harmony being the kids from the home video and Gay Perry surviving in the end. They also make fun of the crime genre. I mean I think that’s what the cheesy music was all about. And that scene when Robert Downey Jr. plays Russian Rouelette!!! I love it when a movie can shock me. Very reminiscent of Quentin Tarantino and Wes Anderson. The only negative thing I will say about the writing is I feel like there was some discontinuity in the Harry character. He was smart sometimes and stupid other times? I mean I think maybe they were going for smart but uneducated or maybe he was smart but didn’t care? I don’t know. I feel Robert Downey Jr. was very fitting for this part but was maybe too smart for the character.

Now for my passion piece. Frickin Harmony. She makes me ashamed of womankind. Kind of. I mean she’s pretty much a bimbo but she is really smart I guess. I feel bad for calling her a bimbo because she’s had a tough life but COME ON! Have some self respect! I mean really?! You’ll give a guy a hand job just because it’s uncomfortable for him to have a boner ? What???? Jesus. I guess this is a good movie for girls to watch so they learn some self respect hopefully. And Harmony does provide a good foil to Harry, making him a surprisingly moral and sweet guy. Which was cool and unexpected and wonderful.

Quick word on the direction. I didn’t catch too much of it but I’m pretty sure it was good. I love indirect shots and there was this great one of Harry and Harmony having a conversation in the hotel room and the shot was focused on Harry with Harmony’s reflection to the side while she undressed. Soo cool.

Bechdel Test

This movie does not pass. I guess it’s kind of feminist through Harry, at least. Sigh. I guess Harmony’s a relatively actiony female character. Still a bimbo though.

Fun Fact

Gay Perry is generally considered the first openly gay character to lead an action film.

Leave a Reply

