Florence Foster Jenkins

“People may say I couldn’t sing, but no one can ever say I didn’t sing.”

The Film Itself

Bottom from A Midsummer Night’s Dream in the flesh is how I would describe Florence Foster Jenkins. Such a delightful little movie about people being drawn to passion. And so hilarious in a very surprising way. I was expecting a much bigger movie but I’m glad that’s not what I got. This was a small, heartfelt movie, but not overly sentimental. Props to the director. He knew just how to get those small comedic moments and it was wonderful. The only thing was that the whole plot of this movie seemed ridiculous and implausible. But I mean it’s a true story so…

I am pretty upset that Simon Helberg isn’t nominated for an Oscar. He consistently got a laugh from me and the rest of my family every scene he was in. It was such a quirky character I had never seen before too. Did he occasionally strike a false note? Sure. But still an absolutely delightful performance.

Hugh Grant was pretty good. I’d heard that this was possibly the best performance of his career. I don’t know if I’d go that far, but as my mom said, the bar was set pretty low. I absolutely loved his little recitations and wanted more of them. And he definitely had the aristocratic air they talked about. Aesthetically he was definitely the right person for the part. I will say that this felt like less of an affectation than most of his characters.

Meryl Streep. I did not know the extent of her comedic skills. Her first singing scene was. too. good. And of course she brings a sincerity to every role that is seldom seen elsewhere.

Fun Fact

David Bowie had her original recording in his record collection.

Bonus Fun Fact:

The real Florence was in a taxi accident. She wasn’t injured, but she gave the driver a box of cigars because she could hit a higher note afterwards.

Best Part

I loved Meryl’s first singing scene. I also really loved the scene when Florence and Cosme play the piano together. It’s very touching and tender and a little heartbreaking. Representative of the movie as a whole.

Worst Part

Eh. I don’t know if there were any moments that I really didn’t like. I guess I had a problem with the Carnegie Hall performance. That woman yelling at the audience didn’t seem like enough motivation for them to start cheering. She was great too.

Leave a Reply

